Godfather III

The last week I found out that a friend was going to climb Urkiola 25 times in a day. It’s more than 13.000 m DOL.
Near my hometown, and I couldn’t try to do it with him!
I liked the idea, and thought of doing something like that, here, in Brussels.
Looking at the BIGs near here, I wanted to do two at the same time. Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg in a little spin, 25 laps.
The challenge ‘Il padrino’.
I started at 7.00 with Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg, I did 5 laps, but had some flat kms to come back to Kwaremont, and I changed the trip to 5 Oude Kwaremont and 5 Paterberg, and did 4 laps with this serie to complete the 25 climbs! Faster and more fun.
.
.
I finished it at 4:10 PM!! With two flat tires, and two hours under the rain!
Very slippery cobbles due to the water!
.
Then I thought of climbing Koppenberg… and I started climbing it at 4:45 PM, finishing at 8:10 PM, again, 25 times… Very boring, very hard.
I hurt my backside very much… and ended up really tired, and with another flat tire… but I still had to go back to Oudenaarde to catch the train, and got there almost completely breathless! I needed to stop twice again to put air in the tube.
You can see the track on Strava, but it stopped in Koppenberg… and lost like an hour or one and a half of the track! I didn’t look at my mobile till that moment.
.
.
.
And only with my ‘sprint’ in the last climb… (I forgot my bag at the top and needed climb it one more time).
.
.
.
212 k 4.208m. (Strava dates), with the cyclocomputer: 225k 4.840m, but with the rain the altimeter is not very precise.
.
Finally the challenge ‘Il Padrino’ has turn into ‘Godfather III’. 😀
.
godfather profile
First stop was for lunch, second and third were for the flat tires, forth for lunch again, and in Koppenberg another stop for a coke.
.
.
.
Some photos and more explanations:
Riding in the morning.
IMG_6207_1
IMG_6208_1
IMG_6210_1
IMG_6211_1
IMG_6217_1
IMG_6219_1
IMG_6222_1
My first flat tire. I lost the air slowly but when I turned to climb Paterberg I felt something strange in the rear wheel.
IMG_6224_1
IMG_6225_1
IMG_6230_1
IMG_6231_1
Some climbs before I can found my own marks.
IMG_6232_1
Curious line.
IMG_6246_1
Dangerous cobbles. My front wheel slid with the terrain between the stones.
IMG_6239_1
IMG_6240_1
IMG_6243_1
Celebrating the 25th climb! :/
IMG_6238_1


IMG_6248_1
IMG_6247_1
First part of the  challenge (Il padrino), achieved!
25 Kwaremont and 25 Paterberg’s!
IMG_6249_1
.
.
.
In the Koppenberg my challenge continued.
.
IMG_6252_1
Start!
IMG_6254_1
IMG_6256_1
IMG_6257_1
IMG_6258_1
And then in the 7th up wet again.
IMG_6263copy_1
IMG_6268_1
Really complicated to climb with the bike. I need to walk at  times.
At the end more or less wet, but never inside the little forest in the most hard part of the climb. Mud, wet and broken cobbles, this is Koppenberg.
Down in the 24th climb, taking air to push a little more in the last lap! Really exhausted, I try to do it well but I can push much more.  3min 13 seg!
IMG_6272_1
The game was finished, very tired… It’s the end! STOP!
2013-08-22 20.08.31
To finish, again with other flat tire!!
I didn’t have a third tube, only pads, but didn’t have time to repaired it, so I pumped in some air, rode down and rushed to get the train!
I rode the last kms almost out of breath… and arrived only with a few seconds to take the train.
More “technical problems” on the shorter way.
2013-08-22 20.25.31
Watched the shipe direction and looking the next bridge to cross the river to the station.
After a while the train stopped because of a technical failure (Maybe the train also had a flat tire! ). We need to change to another train. Now I could repair my wheel!
2013-08-22 20.45.42
2013-08-22 20.50.28
.
I didn’t know why I had the flat tires! I suppose that I have something in the rim… but I haven’t found it.
The next time, more! Thanks Aitor.
.
.
Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg – Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg – Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg – Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg –  Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg –  Oude Kwaremont -Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg – Paterberg – Paterberg – Paterberg – Paterberg – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg – Paterberg- Paterberg – Paterberg – Paterberg – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg – Paterberg – Paterberg – Paterberg- Paterberg – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Oude Kwaremont – Paterberg- Paterberg- Paterberg- Paterberg- Paterberg- Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg – Koppenberg.
Paterberg_profile
Koppenberg_profile
