The Alien Cyclist!

This Saturday the Alley Cat ‘Beer Belly Cats’ took place in Flagey.

5844_478608855546930_1215183731_n

It was my first Alley in Brussels, and I signed up at 7.50PM, only 10 min before the race.

IMG_5318

 

I didn’t expect so many people, and to my surprise saw I was the 62nd to sign up (I thought I was the last to do so). In the end we were 65 riders.

164898_533285736954_18859078_n

1003458_533286116194_618439217_n

The instructions were in French, with very small map, and the start made me go crazy, and rely on the phone to guide myself and follow people.

I think I should have come earlier, and with a better plan than this.

IMG_5316

IMG_5317

An exciting race, with some still unknown stretches of road in the Brussels’ streets (and I generally prefer to go through the streets).

Apart from that, I was thinking about the second check point, and how to overtake people on the way up to the Royal Palace. Luckily I took a fantastic shortcut that made this possible, taking the auto-way through to the rail tracks.

Then I rode past a checkpoint, one of the brasseries!! A shame as it was well located, and I had expectations of doing well. Went back to that check point, which meant I had to do 4 more km to reach the Bois de la Cambre, 24 km total. I didn’t know the bar, so I went to all three, with the misfortune of the right one being the last one I reached.

I got a little frustrated while trying to decipher the clues, although thanks to my girlfriend who was helping me on the phone I rode fast through the streets of Brussels and managed to come in 13th place, with an 8 minute difference.


IMG_5321

A long wait for participants, and my girlfriend came to have a beer and a burger with me. It would still be a little longer for the awards to be given. There was a funny moment when the time came, and I was surprised to know that there was a category for ‘foreign’ riders!

IMG_5323

IMG_5326

That could be me, hoping to have come in at least in the top 3! And yes, I was the first of the ‘aliens’!
As a reward:

– Two Dodici rims high profile (40 mm).
– Dodici T-Shirt (XXL).
– Cinelli handlebar tape,
and
– a Brussels Beer Proyects set of beers.

IMG_5354

IMG_5349

IMG_5350

Many prizes!

Thank you guys.

It was a  fun night, exciting, with a good reward.

As my cyclism group calls me ‘Charles the Alien’ (extraterrestre), I am now ‘officially’ Carlos the Alien Cyclist ! haha.

Some videos in youtube by some bikers of the Alleycat.

